top of page
  • pricek4230

Bookstore owner retires after twelve and a half years

By Kyra Price



Retiring owner of Bookends on Main, Susan Thurin, is closing the shop on December 27th. She is passing the torch on to Ann Vogl’s Dragon Tale Books. Bookends on Main is at 214 Main St. E. Dragon Tale Books will be next door at 216 Main St. E, Suite A.


Thurin is a former English professor, she worked at UW-Stout for 35 years. She said she had walked by the bookstore and noticed that it was for sale the day before her granddaughter’s college graduation.


“I walked in, thought about it for a day and decided on my way to my granddaughter’s college graduation that I’d buy it,” said Thurin. Thurin explained that everything was new, and it was an exciting experience.


“I’ve always found satisfaction in productive work so taking over the bookstore meant both an adventure and enjoyment in doing something useful,” she said.


Thurin expressed how she will miss meeting and talking to people every day. “The best thing about having a bookstore is being able to help people find a book that suits their interests for or as a present for someone else,” she said.


Thurin recalls a special experience. “One of the best things I learned is that people of all ages, educational and economic backgrounds love to read and buy books for their own home libraries,” she said.


“For myself, books have always been a main source of knowledge and pleasure, and I like to see that in others too,” said Thurin.


Thurin had decided to retire due to age. “I aim to read, watch movies, and take long walks, the universal retirement goal,” said Thurin.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page